Partnership Members

Policy Team

The South Coast Youth Safety Partnership Policy Team is a regional collaborative that includes the County of Santa Barbara, and the cities of Goleta, Santa Barbara, and Carpinteria.  It also includes elected officials, local government agencies and executives, law enforcement, education, faith community, philanthropic and community-based organizations, youth and parents.  The Policy Team meets four times a year at alternating locations throughout the South Coast. For meeting information please visit Meetings.

The role of the Policy Team is to convene community stakeholders to address issues on youth safety and prevent violence in the South Coast.  The Policy Team or Partnership does not operate any programs.  The Policy Team relies on a Strategy Team to provide continuity between meetings.  The Strategy Team meets monthly and is staffed by the Partnership Coordinator.  The Purpose of the Strategy Team is to:

  • Provide continuity between quarterly meetings
  • Promptly address issues or potential issues of youth gang violence
  • Come together to assist partner agencies applying for federal, state, and local and private funds
  • Oversee the work of the Partnership Coordinator, and lead and monitor work plan initiatives
  • Make recommendations and report back to the Policy Team

South  Coast Youth Safety Partnership

Policy Team




County of Santa Barbara Mona Miyasato Chief Executive Officer
County of Santa Barbara Bill Brown Sheriff
City of Santa Barbara Rebecca Bjork Interim City Administrator
City of Goleta Michelle Greene City Manager
City of Carpinteria Dave Durflinger City Manager
Gevirtz Graduate School of  Education, UCSB Jill Sharkey Academic Coordinator
City of Santa Barbara Bernard Melekian Interim Police Chief
County of Santa Barbara Tanja Heitman Chief Probation Officer
Santa Barbara County Education Office Rene Wheeler Administrator, Juvenile Court and  Community Schools
Santa Barbara Unified School District Hilda Maldonado Superintendent
Carpinteria Unified School District Diana Rigby Superintendent
Goleta Union School District Diana Roybal Superintendent
CADA/Fighting Back Scott Whiteley Executive Director
CommUnify Patricia Keelean CEO
All for One Richard Muñoz Executive Director
Faith Community Representative Gerardo Menchaca Reverend
Faith Community Representative Pat Hardy Quaker
County of Santa Barbara Amy Krueger Deputy Director , Dept.  of Social Services
County of Santa Barbara Suzanne Grimmesey Deputy Director, ADMHS Clinical Operations
Santa Barbara City College Christina Llerena Director of EOPS/CARES
Santa Barbara Foundation Roundtable Appointee Deanna Vallejo Community Grants Program Officer
Carpinteria Unified School District
County of Santa Barbara Joyce Dudley District Attorney
County of Santa Barbara Superior Court Arthur Garcia Presiding Juvenile Judge
Santa Barbara County  Education Office Susan Salcido Superintendent
City of Carpinteria Al Clark Vice Mayor
City of Carpinteria Gregg Carty Councilmember
City of Goleta James kyriaco Councilmember
City of Santa Barbara Cathy Murillo Mayor
Santa Barbara Board of Education Kate Ford Board Member
University of California, Santa  Barbara Jeffrey Milem Dean
Santa Barbara Foundation Roundtable Appointee Jon Clark Exec. Director Bower Foundation
Community/Family Representative Cristina Lopez Representative
Community/Family Representative Peggy Ochoa Representative

Coordinator, South Coast Youth Safety Partnership:  Saul Serrano